# List of Participating Countries in the Single Market Programme (SMP)

# EFTA countries which are part of the European Economic Area (EEA)

### Internal Market strand (SMP COMP, etc)

• **Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein** participate in the SMP Internal Market strand as from 01 January 2021, with the exception of the sub-strand "Taxud regulatory work support"

### COSME strand (SMP COSME)

• Iceland, Norway and Liechtenstein participate in the SMP COSME strand as from 01 January 2021

# Standardisation strand

• **Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein** participate in the SMP Standardisation strand as from 01 January 2021, but only for the sub-strand "Support the development of high-quality international financial reporting"

#### Consumer strand (SMP CONS)

• **Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein** participate in the SMP Consumer strand as from 01 January 2021. Exception for Norway not participating in "Enhancing the participation of consumers, other financial services end-users and civil society in financial services policy making"

### Food strand (SMP FOOD)

• Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein will not participate in the SMP Food strand

# European Statistics strand (SMP ESS)

• Iceland, Norway and Liechtenstein participate in the SMP European Statistics strand as from 01 January 2021

# EU Acceding countries, candidate countries and potential candidates

- Albania participates in the SMP Programme, but only in the strand for 'Competitiveness of SMEs' (agreement signed in December 2023 — entry into force retroactive on 01 January 2021)
- **Bosnia and Herzegovina** participates in the SMP Programme, but only in the strand for 'Competitiveness of SMEs' (agreement signed in July 2023 entry into force retroactive on 01 January 2021)
- Kosovo<sup>\* 1</sup> participates in the SMP Programme, but only for the following strands: 'Operation/Development of the Internal Market of Goods and Services', 'Competition Policy', 'Market Surveillance', 'Competitiveness of SMEs', 'International financial reporting' and 'Ensuring high level of consumer protection and product safety' (agreement signed in May 2023 waiting for national ratification)
- Montenegro participates in the SMP Programme, but only for the following

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> \*This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244/1999 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence

strands: 'Operation/Development of the Internal Market of Goods and Services', 'Competition Policy', 'Market Surveillance', 'Competitiveness of SMEs' and 'Ensuring high level of consumer protection and product safety') (agreement signed in April 2023 — entry into force retroactive on 01 January 2021)

- North Macedonia participates in the SMP Programme, but only for the following strands: 'Operation/Development of the Internal Market of Goods and Services', 'Competition Policy', 'Market Surveillance', 'Competitiveness of SMEs' and 'Ensuring high level of consumer protection and product safety' (agreement signed in April 2023 entry into force retroactive on 01 January 2021)
- Serbia participates in the SMP Programme, but only in the strand for 'Competitiveness of SMEs' (agreement signed in September 2023 — entry into force retroactive on 01 January 2021)
- **Türkiye** participates in the SMP Programme, but only in the strand for 'Competitiveness of SMEs' (agreement signed in March 2023 — entry into force retroactive on 01 January 2021)

# **European Neighbourhood Policy countries**

- **Armenia** has confirmed interest to join the SMP Programme, but only in the strand for 'Competitiveness of SMEs'
- **Georgia** has confirmed interest to join the SMP Programme
- **Moldova** participates in the SMP Programme, but only in the strands for 'Market Surveillance' and 'Competitiveness of SMEs' (agreement signed in September 2023 — entry into force retroactive on 01 January 2021)
- Ukraine participates in the SMP Programme, but only in the strands for 'Competitiveness of SMEs' and 'Producing and disseminating high quality statistics on Europe' (agreement signed in February 2023 — entry into force retroactive on 01 January 2021)

#### **Other countries**

• Currently, no country has confirmed interest to join the SMP Progamme

Please note that entities subject to <u>EU restrictive measures</u> under Article 29 of the Treaty on the European Union (TEU) and Article 215 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the EU (TFEU)<sup>2</sup> and entities covered by Commission Guidelines No <u>2013/C 205/05</u><sup>3</sup> are NOT eligible to participate in any capacity (including as beneficiaries, affiliated entities, associated partners, third parties giving in-kind contributions, subcontractors or recipients of financial support to third parties, if any).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Please note that the EU Official Journal contains the official list and, in case of conflict, its content prevails over that of the EU Sanctions Map.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Commission guidelines No 2013/C 205/05 on the eligibility of Israeli entities and their activities in the territories occupied by Israel since June 1967 for grants, prizes and financial instruments funded by the EU from 2014 onwards (OJEU C 205 of 19.07.2013, pp. 9-11).

HISTORY OF CHANGES		
VERSION	PUBLICATION	CHANGE
	DATE	
1.0	15.06.2021	Initial version (new MFF).
		Iceland, Norway and Liechtenstein.
		Montenegro, Turkey and Kosovo*.
2.0	08.11.2021	Addition of Internal Market Strand, Standardisation
		Strand; participation of EEA countries confirmed.
		Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, North Macedonia and
		Ukraine added.
3.0	15.12.2021	Albania and Armenia added.
4.0	01.09.2022	Ukraine moved to EU Acceding Countries; Georgia and
		Moldova added. Information on SMP Food strand added.
5.0	01.02.2023	Scope ("all strands") deleted for countries negotiating
		access (both in the group EU Acceding countries,
		candidate countries and potential candidates and in the
		group European Neighbourhood Policy countries.
6.0	01.04.2023	Participation of Ukraine and Türkiye confirmed.
7.0	15.05.2023	Participation of Montenegro and North Macedonia
		confirmed.
8.0	01.08.2023	Participation of Kosovo* and Bosnia and Herzegovina
		confirmed.
9.0	01.10.2023	Participation of Serbia and Moldova confirmed.
10.0	01.11.2023	Clarifications on scope of participation (SMP strands
		individually listed).
11.0	15.12.2023	Participation of Albania confirmed.
12.0	15.06.2024	Georgia has limited interest in participation to strand for
		'Competitiveness of SMEs'.
		Participation of Kosovo waiting for national ratification.