## Glossary:Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)

Statistics Explained

The **Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development**, abbreviated as **OECD** and based in Paris (FR), is an international organisation of 38 countries committed to democracy and the market economy. The forerunner to the OECD was the Organisation for European Economic Co-operation and Development (OEEC), formed in 1947 to administer American and Canadian aid under the auspices of the Marshall Plan following World War II. The OECD was established in1961.

OECD Member States (and the dates on which they ratified the OECD Convention) are:

Australia (7 June 1971)	Greece (27 September 1961)	New Zealand (29 May 1973)
Austria (29 September 1961)	Hungary (7 May 1996)	Norway (4 July 1961)
Belgium (13 September 1961)	Iceland (5 June 1961)	Poland (22 November 1996)
Canada (10 April 1961)	Ireland (17 August 1961)	Portugal (4 August 1961)
Chile (7 May 2010)	Israel (7 September 2010)	Slovak Republic (14 December 2000)
Czechia (21 December 1995)	Italy (29 March 1962)	Slovenia (21 July 2010)
Colombia (28 April 2020)	Japan (28 April 1964)	Spain (3 August 1961)
Costa Rica (25 May 2021)	Korea (12 December 1996)	Sweden (28 September 1961)
Denmark (30 May 1961)	Latvia (1 July 2016)	Switzerland (28 September 1961)
Estonia (9 December 2010)	Lithuania (5 July 2018)	Turkey (2 August 1961)
Finland (28 January 1969)	Luxembourg (7 December 1961)	United Kingdom (2 May 1961)
France (7 August 1961)	Mexico (18 May 1994)	United States (12 April 1961)
Germany (27 September 1961)	Netherlands (13 November 1961)	

The OECD's mission is to bring together the governments of countries committed to democracy and the market economy from around the world to:

- · support sustainable economic growth;
- · boost employment;
- · raise living standards;
- · maintain financial stability;
- · assist other countries' economic development;
- · contribute to growth in world trade.

## **Further information**

• OECD website